Say That You Love Me


February 11, 2012 by jooshanoosh

Have you read Senor Gary Chapman’s book The Five Love Languages? A fascinating read! And by “fascinating” I mean “easy enough for even me to understand.”

According to Captain Gary Chapman, love is spoken in five different languages. You want I should spell them out for you? Done. They are 1) Physical Touch, 2) Acts of Service, 3) Gifts, 4) Quality Time and 5) Words of Affirmation. One of these is YOUR “love language,” that is, the way YOU feel loved. (No, Eating is not one of them. But mark my words, Sir Chapman has a sequel in the works, and it includes a title somewhere along the line of The Sixth Love Language: The Most Delicious of All.)

As I read Sergeant Chapman’s theory, it made me feel like a genius. Because I was pretty sure I was multi-lingual. I spoke several of these love languages, if not all of them. Give me a hug (physical touch), and you bet I’ll feel loved. But give me a hug while telling me how smart I am (words of affirmation), pulling money out of my ear (gifts), and brushing lint off my shirt (acts of service), then I really feel loved. And if you make it a long hug, then that’s quality time, and we just covered all our bases, and I’m feeling more loved than Santa Claus.

After a more thorough reading and much deliberation, I have concluded that my love language is actually Words of Affirmation.

According to Saint Chapman, the reason it was so difficult for me to narrow in on my love language is due to his theory that if you hear your love language spoken regularly, and your Bucket O’ Love (scientific term) is full, then it’s difficult to detect which language is yours. Or, if you feel absolutely no love, and your Bucket is plumb empty, then it is equally difficult to determine what your love language is. But if you know my wife, Katie, then you know that my struggle to determine my love language is because I have marinated in love for so many years, my Bucket runneth over. 

6 thoughts on “Say That You Love Me

  1. Josh says:

    I used to think I was an "acts of service" kind of guy. Now I just want gifts. Just go to my amazon wishlist and buy me gifts and I will be happy. I am simple that way.

  2. You are truly blessed to have a wonderful wife like Katie. I can see how easy it would be to get all five love languages from someone as loving and giving as her! But I agree… I think eating should be the sixth love language!

  3. Hailey says:

    Ken, you are so witty and talented. I admire you so much. I love to read everything you write! (See? I am fluent in "words of affirmation.")

  4. Heather says:

    That was awesome. You make me wish Katie was my wife. lol

  5. Lisa says:

    Ken, you are such a gifted writer! My love language have changed over the years as well. NOW I WANT IT ALL.

  6. I don't know what I love more: Ken or the fact that I wanted to do the same thing Hailey and Lisa did.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: