Young Love

5

February 14, 2012 by jooshanoosh

Remember Valentine’s Day in elementary school? We would gladly hand out Valentine’s cards to everyone in class. Boy, girl, weird smelling kid with a lip fungus – everyone was endowed with a written sentiment. On Valentine’s Day, charity abounded and we were all compassionate.  
There was one year when cupid paid me a visit, and I was indeed hit with his arrow. It was fourth grade and her name was Tess Dresher. I can still recall the day she walked up to me during recess and asked me to “go with her.” “Sure,” I answered. And those were the last words every exchanged between Tess and myself. We occasionally sat by each other, and I gave her a very special Peanuts Valentine’s Day card, but we never did speak, or even make eye contact. So I guess technically we are still “going together.” Boy is she going to be mad when she finds out I got married and had seven children. She’ll want to break up for sure. I’m not looking forward to that conversation.
5 thoughts on “Young Love

  1. Hailey says:

    Mine was 5th grade, David Sheldon. But I did dump him. Across the room, during social studies. I mouthed, "You're dumped." He started to cry. Not my proudest moment.

  2. Ken Craig says:

    Hailey, you are HEARTLESS! And I love it. Probably because I'm not David Sheldon. Chris, THE Susan Olsen? You dawg!

  3. Josh says:

    Hailey, that is the funniest story I've ever heard. My first love was a firey red head named Camille in Kindergarten. I don't think we ever spoke.

  4. dalene says:

    Rance Clifton. Elementary school. I indicated my affection for him by dragging his coat through the mud during recess. Girls are weird.

Leave a Reply

Categories

